Friday, November 13, 2009

Pantha Du Prince To Release New Album

Electronic artist Pantha Du Prince has signed a deal with Rough Trade. You may have heard some of the prior work released via German label Dial Records. The new album Black Noise will be released Feb 9th, 2010.

Pantha Du Prince has remixed songs for Depeche Mode, Animal Collective, Bloc Party, Phantom/Ghost, The Long Blondes. Black Noise includes special guests: Animal Collective's Noah Lennox sings on “Stick to my side” and Tyler Pope of !!! and LCD Soundsystem plays bass on “The Splendour.” Regarding his music and new record, he says, "Music slumbers in all matter; any sound, even silence, is already music. The mission, then, must be to render audible what is unheard and unheard of: black noise, a frequency that is inaudible to man. Black noise often presages natural disasters, earthquakes or floods; only some animals perceive this “calm before the storm.” Black noise is something archaic and earthy. The music on Black Noise balances precariously on the slippery threshold between art and nature, between techno and folklore, which lends it a certain spectral and intangible aspect."

Rough Trade founder Geoff Travis signed Pantha Du Prince. Commenting upon the decision he said, “When Rough Trade started we were very much involved with the first wave of do it yourself electronica, with Cabaret Voltaire and Throbbing Gristle amongst our early releases. It is nice to be able to return to the fray with one of the most musically eloquent practitioners in this field, Pantha Du Prince.”

Here's a track from 2007, titled "Saturn Strobe"

Thanks to youtube user threeheadedsexbeast.

No comments: